Quantum gravity and matter

What is the fundamental quantum structure of spacetime? This meeting will bring together researchers tackling this question from various perspectives, including string theory, asymptotically safe gravity, loop quantum gravity, dynamical triangulations, causal sets, effective field theory and supergravity. The focus of the meeting will be on exploring the interplay between quantum gravity and matter. The goal is to bridge the gap between quantum gravity and particle physics, and bring together experts on the diverse approaches to quantum gravity as well as high-energy physics. Key questions to be discussed at the meeting include the impact of matter on the fundamental quantum structure of spacetime as well as the effect of quantum gravity on matter, including understanding restrictions on particle physics models arising from a consistent embedding in a fundamental model of spacetime. The latter could be key to develop a phenomenology of quantum gravity.

Invited speakers

  • Ivan Agullo (Louisiana State University)
  • Abhay Ashtekar (Penn State)
  • Borut Bajc (Ljubliana)
  • John Donoghue (Amherst)
  • Lisa Glaser (Nijmegen)
  • James Gray (Virginia Tech)
  • Arthur Hebecker (Heidelberg)
  • Aaron Held (Heidelberg)
  • John Laiho (Syracuse)
  • Krysztof Meissner (Warszawa)
  • Jan Pawlowski (Heidelberg)
  • Arttu Rajantie (Imperial College)
  • Javier Rubio (Helsinki)
  • Alberto Salvio (CERN)
  • Frank Saueressig (Nijmegen)
  • Rafael Sorkin (Perimeter Institute)
  • Sebastian Steinhaus (Perimeter Institute)
  • Christof Wetterich (Heidelberg)
  • Registration

    Registration for the meeting is now open until June 15, 2019. To register, please send an email to eichhorn AT thphys.uni-heidelberg.de. Note that the number of participants is limited, therefore registration is not automatic. You will receive an email after June 15th to confirm whether you can participate in the meeting. There will be some room for contributed talks. If you would like to contribute a talk, please send a title and an abstract until May 15, 2019.


    email: eichhorn AT thphys.uni-heidelberg.de