Ruprecht Karls Universität Heidelberg


At Heidelberg, our group is distributed over two locations of the university, namely the Institute for Theoretical Physics at Philosophenweg 19 and the Bioquant Im Neuenheimer Feld 267.
In any case, the phone numbers are +49 - (0)6221 - 54 - X.
Email is

Group leader

Ulrich Schwarz, Phil 19, phone 9399

Administrative office

Phil 19, phone 9431, fax 9331


Pintu Patra, BioQuant room 163, phone 51253
Felix Frey, Phil 19, phone 9442

PhD students

Julia Jäger, BioQuant room 163, phone 51253
Justin Grewe, Phil 19, phone 9442
Dennis Woerthmueller, Phil 19, phone 9442
Patrick Binder, together with the group of Thomas Hoefer

Master students

Johannes Blumberg, BioQuant room 162, phone 51252
Rabea Link, BioQuant room 162, phone 51252
Tom Kaufmann, BioQuant room 162, phone 51252
Robert Chojowski, Phil 19, phone 9442
Oliver Drozdowski, Phil 19, phone 9427

Bachelor students

Daozheng Gong, Bioquant room 163, phone 51253
Stefan Maurer, Phil 19, phone 9427


currently none


currently none


Ilka Bischofs-Pfeifer, PhD and Postdoc 2001 - 2005, then Adam Arkin group at Berkeley, then own research group at Bioquant Heidelberg and MPI Marburg
Thorsten Erdmann, PhD and Postdoc 2002-2006, then Pieter Rein ten Wolde group at AMOLF, then research associate at Heidelberg 2009-2016
Johannes Stiegler, intern spring 2005
Lorenz Steinbock, intern fall 2005
Andrea Marschall, intern spring 2005
Christian Gojak, intern fall 2006
Raja Paul, Postdoc 2005-2007, then Mogilner group at UC Davis, then assistent professor at IACS Kolkata, India
Satarupa Dey, guest 2005-2007
Sebastian Schmidt, diploma student, graduated 2007, then PhD at Helmholtz Center Berlin
Fabian Czerwinski, diploma student, graduated 2007, then PhD at Niels Bohr Institute Kopenhagen, now at U Greifswald (Oliver Otto group)
Christian Korn, PhD and Postdoc 2004-2008, then working for BOSCH
Johanna von Treuenfels, diploma student, graduated 2008, then working for dfine
Qiang Chang, Postdoc 2008-09, then PICB Shanghai
Benedikt Sabass, intern and diploma student until 2009, then PhD with Udo Seifert at Stuttgart, then Postdoc at ITP Heidelberg, 07-12/2013, then Postdoc with Howard Stone at Princeton, then own research group on micromechanics of life at FZ Juelich
Achim Besser, PhD and Postdoc 2005-2009, then Gaudenz Danuser group at Harvard, then BASF
Yin Cai, bachelor student, graduated 2009, then master project with Thomas Hoefer at Bioquant, then PhD with Jan Ellenberg at EMBL
Andreas Kühne, intern spring 2010
Fridtjof Kowald, diploma student, graduated 2010, then Init AG Karlsruhe, then physics teacher
Jakob Schluttig, PhD and Postdoc 2006-2010, then working for Sirona Dental Systems
Linus Schumacher, intern July and August 2010
Denis Danilov, Postdoc Karlsruhe 2008-2010, then Wenzel group at Karlsruhe, then SAP
Jörg Eisele, Bachelor student summer 2010, later PhD with Rasmus Schroeder and Andreas Dreuw
Thomas Striebel, PhD student Karlsruhe 2007 - 2011, with Martin Bastmeyer and Martin Wegener
Christoph Koke, diploma student 2010/11, then PhD with Karl-Heinz Meier, KIP
Johanna Baschek, diploma student 2010/11, then Deutsche Bahn
Olivia Viessmann, bachelor student 2011
Patrick Schulz, intern spring 2011
Susanne Gröbner, intern spring 2011
Eva Möller, intern summer 2011
Sabine Bender, intern summer 2011
Julian Weichsel, PhD and Postdoc 2007-2011, then Geissler group at Berkeley, then back to our group as a Postdoc Jan - July 2014, then Heidelberg Engineering
Carina Edwards-Dunlop, Postdoc 2007-2011, then lecturer at University of Surrey
Krzysztof K. Baczynski, Postdoc 2010-2012, then SAP
Daniel Ockenfeld, diploma student 2011-2012, then German diplomatic services
Anna Reustle, intern 2012
Diana Khoromskaia, master student 2011-12, then PhD at Warwick
Philip Guthardt Torres, PhD and Postdoc 2009-2012, then financial services
Guiping Wang, bachelor student from University of Science and Technology of China, March 6 - May 17 2013, then Xiaowei Zhuang group at Harvard
Martin Schlegel, bachelor student summer term 2013, then Cambridge
Akos Kungl, bachelor student summer term 2013, later PhD with Karl-Heinz Meier, KIP
Tina Wiegand, joint master student with Spatz group summer 2013, later PhD with Joachim Spatz and Ada Cavalcanti-Adam
Celine Labouesse, guest from EPFL Lausanne, summer 2013, PhD with Jean-Jacques Meister, Postdoc with Kevin Chalut at Cambridge
Marvin Böttcher, Master student 11/2012-10/2013, then PhD with Arne Traulsen group at MPI Ploen
Anna Kutschireiter, Master student 11/2012-10/2013, then PhD at ETHZ
Max Hoffmann, PhD-student 4/2010-12/2013, then University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA, then working for Airport Frankfurt
Jonas Grosse Sundrup, bachelor student summer term 2014, together with Frederik Graw
Jerome Soine, diploma student, PhD and Postdoc from 2008-2014; then working for International Security Network
Irina Surovtsova, Postdoc 2012-2015, then Postdoc in Kummer and Pahle groups at BioQuant Heidelberg
Kathrin Bartelheimer, master student 2013/14, then PhD at DKFZ Heidelberg
Alexander van Meegen, bachelor student 2014/15, then HU Berlin for master studies
Anna Battista, PhD-student 2011-2015, then working as data analyst for Owlstone at Cambridge, England
Gianna Marschmann, master student 2015/15, then PhD in hydrogeology with Olaf Cirpka at Hohenheim
Hannah Barthel, master student together with Christian Conrad, 2014/15
Heinrich Klein, PhD & Postdoc 2012-15, then working for EWE Oldenburg
Artemij Amiranashvili, bachelor student summer term 2013, master student 2015, then PhD at Freiburg
Franz Kuchling, master student 2015, together with Jochen Wittbrodt, then PhD at Boston
Philipp Albert, diploma, PhD & Postdoc 2009-16, then working for Atrics at Freiburg
Silvia Seidlitz, bachelor student 2016, with Ries group at EMBL
Lukas Spiess, bachelor student 2016
Markus Miltner, bachelor student 2016
Benedikt Rennekamp, bachelor student 2016
Fabian Fuchs, master student 2015-16, then PhD in autonomous systems at Oxford, GB
Marcel Weiss, master student 2016, then PhD with Sebastian Ahnert group at Cambridge
Martin Reinhardt, master student 2017, with Wade group at HITS, then PhD with Helmut Grubmueller at MPI Goettingen
Christoph Brand, PhD and Postdoc 2011-2016
Vanessa Scheller, bachelor student 2016/17
Tom Kaufmann, bachelor student winter term 2016/17
Liam Ruske, bachelor student summer term 2017
Anna Huhn, intern biology summer 2017
Paula Weidemueller, intern systems biology master fall 2017
Marco Linke, PhD and Postdoc 2012-2017
Susanna Fuhrmann, bachelor student winter term 2017/18
Nils Klughammer, bachelor student 2015 and master student 2017, then Dekker lab Delft
Dimitri Probst, PhD-student 2014-2018, then working for Bruker at Karlsruhe
Anil Kumar Dasanna, Postdoc until fall 2018, now Gompper group research center Juelich
Leander John, bachelor student summer term 2018
David Outland, bachelor student summer term 2018
Thomas Ehret, bachelor student summer term 2018
Astrid Stubbusch, intern summer term 2018
Nikolas Schnellbächer, PhD-student 2013-17, then Postdoc until fall 2018, then working for Philips at Hamburg
Dennis Wagner, bachelor student winter term 2018/19
Marius Brockhoff, bachelor student winter term 2018/19
Falko Ziebert, Postdoc 2017-19, then group leader at MPI DS Goettingen
zum Seitenanfang